COBDOGLA has claimed its third successive Independent football premiership, crushing Lyrup by 85 points. The premiership was the crowning glory f or Eagles coach Rod Hankin, who has said he will not be coaching the club in 2009. The game was a dour battle for the first three terms, with Lyrup just  remaining in the hunt as the Eagles built to a 35 point lead at the final change. A nine goal final term saw the Eagles charge to an easy win, leaving the Lions in disarray. Duthie Medallist Brad Horsell was the architect of the victory, setting up play in the midfield and kicking five goals himself. Darrell Tilbrook was the other major goalscorer with six majors to his name. Steve Raeder’s effort to hold key forward Anthony Lippis to just one goal had him in contention for best on ground status. Also playing well for the Eagles were Leon Henderson and Rob Smyth. Best for Lyrup was the redoubtable David Grenfell, talented Nathan Gregory and defender Tom Wood. The match is understood to have signalled the final game of Lions stalwart Shane Healy, who has been a fine representative of his club. In the colts grand final, Moorook-Kingston won its first ever premiership in that grade, defeating Lyrup by just seven points in a thrilling contest. The Lions led by 25 points at quarter time but could not stop the Warrior surge led by Brenton Reid, Alex Rapisarda and Brad Kahl. Zac Bates and Dylan Johnson were the Lions’ best.